When you go to edit an Award, it's possible that from the time the Award was created until now, one or more of the Courses in the Award has changed. In particular, some skills may have been added to or removed from the Course. The bottom line is the Award no longer includes the latest version of that Course.
How will you know? There are two ways. One way is you'll see a banner across the top of the Award Dashboard that says You have unsaved changes.
The other way is you will see an exclamation point to the right of the Course title that has the change. In fact, if you hover your mouse over the exclamation point, it will let you know there's an update available.
f the Award is in the published state, you'll have to click the Revise button in the upper right first.
The easiest thing to do is to just click the Save button in the upper right. This will automatically accept all pending updates to the Course(s).